Advertisement

WhatsApp working on syncing the chat history across mobile devices

WhatsApp currently has some new features in the lab, and one of them is allowing the use of the same account on several Android smartphones. However, the Meta-owned company also plans to offer synchronization of your conversation history between each device, according to the latest report from WABetaInfo.

WhatsApp

WhatsApp is currently working on a feature that is particularly expected from users: the possibility of linking your account to several Android smartphones. Dubbed Companion mode, it would allow users to link a secondary mobile device to their WhatsApp account without needing an active Internet connection on the primary device to send messages.

However, thanks to the update of the beta version of WhatsApp for Android (2.22.15.13), our colleagues from WABetaInfo have discovered that the developers of the app are also working on the synchronization of the history of conversations between mobile devices.

In fact, when users log into WhatsApp from another smartphone, the chats will be securely copied to this secondary device. However, this process may take time depending on the amount of messages. As a result, users should see the same message appear as on the Web/Desktop version. “Chats are still syncing, old messages are temporarily unavailable”.

WhatsApp working on syncing the chat history across mobile devices

Unfortunately, it’s unclear when WhatsApp plans to roll out Companion Mode since this feature is still under development. Recall that in early June 2022, WhatsApp confirmed that the app will soon be able to work on 4 devices at the same time. In addition, the iPad could soon be part of the compatible devices.

This was impossible until now; since it was imperative to register a phone number to a WhatsApp account to use the app. However, with the multi-support connection, this problem no longer exists. In addition, note that it will also soon be possible to delete your very old messages on the messenger.

While it was necessary to react within the hour to delete a message; users will now have 2 days and 12 hours to delete or modify a previously published message. This feature will also be available to WhatsApp group admins, except that no time limit will apply.

Source

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.