WhatsApp reportedly working on double verification for logins, undo deleted message

WhatsApp already boasts a good number of privacy-focused features in place but it still working hard to ensure its users are safe from any form of harm. The Meta-owned messaging platform is now working on adding a second verification code for safer access to a WhatsApp account from a new phone.

WhatsApp 1

Double Verification While Logging In

WABetaInfo has shared a new report that hints at the development of the “Double Verification Code” feature, which will show up another step of verification code when you are trying to log into your WhatsApp account from another smartphone. This will be in addition to the existing one-step verification process for the same.

It is revealed that when the first verification code is successfully entered, you will have to then enter a second 6-digit code, which will be sent to your phone number. A pop-up will appear telling people about the second verification code. This is to ensure that it’s in fact you trying to log into your WhatsApp and not some cybercriminal. Here’s a look at what this will be like.

WhatsApp Is Working On Double Verification Code

The development of the feature comes after the recent WhatsApp scam wherein people were tricked into giving access to their WhatsApp accounts to hackers by sharing the verification code. This added layer of security aims to put an end to this. And, it appears like an interesting idea too.

However, there’s no word on when the double verification code will start showing up for people. It is still under development, so, may take some time to reach beta users and even more time to become available for the general users. Both Android and iOS users are strongly expected to get this new privacy feature.

Undo deleted message:

To begin, in beta version 2.22.13.5, WhatsApp is working on the ability to undo deleted messages when using the “delete for me” option. After deleting a message by tapping “delete for me,” as seen in this screenshot, WhatsApp displays a prompt at the bottom of the screen informing you that you could undo the deletion if you made a mistake. You’ll have a few seconds to reverse the process, allowing you to retrieve the message and, if desired, delete it for everyone.

whatsapp Undo deleted message

In related news, WhatsApp is also expected to introduce more new features for users like the extended ability of message reactions and the multi-device feature, the option to edit a sent message, and much more. It remains to be seen when all these features will make it to WhatsApp and we will be sure to provide you with timely updates. Hence, stay tuned!

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.