Twitter Circle announced, allows you to create your own closed group
Twitter has started testing Twitter Circle. Just like Instagram “Close Friends” shortlist, Twitter Circle is a way to send Tweets to select people, and share your thoughts with a smaller crowd.
You pick who’s in your Twitter Circle, and only the individuals you’ve added can reply to and interact with the Tweets you share in the Circle.
Twitter has also introduced a revised Help Center page that describes the Twitter Circle in detail. It is not the same as using Twitter Communities or having a protected account.
Some Tweets are for everyone & others are just for people you’ve picked.
We’re now testing Twitter Circle, which lets you add up to 150 people who can see your Tweets when you want to share with a smaller crowd.
Some of you can create your own Twitter Circle beginning today! pic.twitter.com/nLaTG8qctp
— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety) May 3, 2022
At the moment, users can only have one Circle, and each Circle can only have 150 users. The full list of users in your Circle is visible only to you, and tweets shared with a Circle cannot be retweeted. Even though the Circle limits who can see specific Tweets, this does not prevent people from re-sharing media or screenshots of content.
And finally, once you’ve been added to a Circle, you can’t get out of it. Twitter suggests muting conversations in which you do not want to participate.
Twitter is currently testing this feature with a small number of users all over the world. While you compose a Tweet on Android, iOS, or Twitter.com, you will see the option to create a Circle appear if you are a member of the sample group. Anybody, including those you do not follow, could be a part of a Circle. When you post a tweet to your Circle, only those in your Circle can view, respond to, or read all the comments.
Twitter Circle is in its early stages right now, and it is available to select users globally. This simply means that only few can create Twitter Circle Tweets.