Your last appearance in WhatsApp can now be hidden from individual contacts
The latest beta version of the WhatsApp messenger has been updated with a new privacy protection feature – the ability to hide the status of your last presence in the application from some contacts.
The last visit status shows when the user last opened the application; which means they had the opportunity to view the message sent to them; this information can be useful if read receipts are disabled. Until now, it was possible to either limit access to this status only to users included in the contact list; or completely disable this feature for everyone.
However, in the beta version of the WhatsApp application for iOS and Android, number 18.104.22.168, in the privacy settings, and the last seen status, the item “My contacts except …” appeared.
According to the WABetaInfo resource, if you add a user to this list, he will lose the ability to view this status. Some time ago, also in beta, it became possible to restrict user access to certain profile details; including photo profile and the description.
The new settings are currently only available in the test version of the application, but it is likely that they will debut with one of the upcoming releases of the WhatsApp client.