WhatsApp, recently rolled out a new feature that allows users to automatically delete messages. In addition to that, it also launched an end-to-end encryption function for one-to-one chats to enhance security. The developers also recently adds a new function that extends the “delete” time of messages after reading. Users can choose to clear the message automatically after 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days. Before now, there was only an option of 7 days.

WHATSAPP RECOMMENDS HOW TO KEEP CHATS IF YOU ACTIVATE AUTO DELETE

It is worth noting that the messages will only auto-delete if you have read them. While this mode is good for some users and clears your chats, some information may be vital. Thus, users may need to keep this information.

In such cases, WhatsApp recommends that users should screenshot such important chat history. For now, this is the only way for users to save some of the chat histories. WhatsApp officials said that WhatsApp users can also enable this feature for all chats by default.

It should also be noted that turning on the auto-delete feature does not mean that the other party’s terminal will also lose the chat history. The recipient of the chat can keep the chat history for as long as they want whether you delete yours or not.

The WhatsApp feature has been gradually rolled out for iOS and Android clients. If users do not receive the update, they may have to be patient. The update will be available for all users pretty soon.

ALSO READ:  Facebook now allows you add GIFs in comments.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here