Twitter is rolling out a new feature that allows you to soft block an annoying follower. This simply means that with a button, you can now remove a follower from your account with ease.
A soft block is different from a block because it allows a user to still see your tweets and direct message you, but they won’t see your tweets on your feed. That said, when you remove a follower, they can follow you again if they want.
How to Activate Soft Blocking Feature on Twitter Web
To soft block a follower;
- Go to your profile and click followers
- Click the three-dot menu next to a follower
- Then click the option “Remove this follower.” (You can see what that option looks like in an image from Twitter at the top of this post.)
A follower you remove won’t be notified of the change.
The ability to remove a follower is Twitter’s latest feature to offers users more control over their experience on the platform to help curb abuse and harassment.