Advertisement

Last year, Google announced that users would stop enjoying enjoying free unlimited high-quality storage in Google Photos as from June 1. This simply means that today, May 31, is the last day for its users. As from tomorrow, June 1, all your high-quality and express-quality images will count towards your free 15GB Google account storage.

Google Photos

Once you reach that 15GB limit, you will have to start deleting some of your photos or other Google Drive content to free up space. Or subscribe to Google One plan to increase your Google account’s storage up to 2TB.

What this means is that Google will start charging you once you exceed the 15GB on your Google drive attached to your account.

Frequently Asked Questions On The New Google Photos Changes

1. First of all, all images uploaded before June 1, 2021, will not be counted. This change only applies to images uploaded after the date.

2. This doesn’t mean you will be required to pay immediately on June 1, 2021. If you are not using your full free 15GB that comes with every Google account, you can keep uploading till that gets filled up. Once that happens, you will have the choice to subscribe to one of the Google One plans if you plan to keep uploading.

Advertisement

3. If you are inactive on the service for over two years or over your storage limit for over two years, then Google may delete your content across multiple services.

4. Pixel phone users are excepted, as they will continue to receive free, unlimited backup of their photos and videos for the stipulated period.

ALSO READ:  US Bans Five Other Chinese Companies

5. Once you exceed your free 15GB, your charges will start at $1.99 / month for 100GB and has tiers going through 200GB ($2.99 / month), 2TB ($9.99 / month), and up to 30TB ($149.99 / month).

An alternative to Google photos includes drop box, One drive or even your own server if you have one. Share your thoughts with us in the comments.

Advertisment

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here