Advertisement

WhatsApp‘s users already has a new update waiting for them which they MUST accept if they want to continue in the platform. This update was to expected to be made public in January but that did not happen. The reason for that was the public outburst with regards to the somewhat controversial update.

WhatsApp

The Facebook-owned company has now given users until May 15 to take a decision on the new terms. If you do not accept the new terms and conditions on or before this date, WhatsApp will block you from sending or receiving any messages via the platform.

As May 15 get closer, WhatsApp is now sending reminders regarding the new terms and conditions. A few days ago, some users got pop-up messages just after launch the app. The pop-up message is to remind users of its new terms and privacy policy. Part of the message reads;

“Please accept these updates to continue using WhatsApp,”.

Furthermore, WhatsApp has given the implication of not accepting the new terms. The company said in a blogpost.

WhatsApp Sends Reminder To Users

Advertisement

“WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept…For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.”

WhatsApp Sends Reminder To Users 1

In a bid to calm users’ nerves, WhatsApp said “As a reminder, we’re building new ways to chat or shop with a business on WhatsApp that are entirely optional…Personal messages will always be end-to-end encrypted, so WhatsApp can’t read or listen to them. In the coming weeks, we’ll display a banner in WhatsApp providing more information that people can read at their own pace. We’ve also included more information to try and address concerns we’re hearing. Eventually, we’ll start reminding people to review and accept these updates to keep using WhatsApp,” the blog post explains.

ALSO READ:  Telegram Update: You Can Now Stream Video On The App and Many More

As things currently stand, if you love this app, you have no choice but to accept the terms. However, what is really new in these Terms and Conditions? Late last year, there were uproars that the social app needs a way for Facebook to collect more personal data. However, the company sternly denies this claim. The new terms do not give Facebook access to any data from your personal information. Actually, it will only have an impact on conversations with a business account.

Advertisment

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here