Few days ago, Facebook announced that Vanish mode will be coming to messenger and Instagram. The feature, a Snapchat-like feature for disappearing messages, allows users to set chats to automatically delete after the message is seen and the chat is closed.
Something similar to WhatsApp Dissappearing message gradually rolling out to beta testers of the app. In vanish mode, Messenger and Instagram users can share something silly or embarrassing and then immediately forget about it by vanishing the entire chat.
Users can send text chats, emoji, pictures, GIFs, voice messages, and stickers, which will disappear after they’ve been seen and users leave the chat.
However, unlike Snapchat, Vanish Mode is not a default setting. Instead, users are meant to enable it from within an existing chat.
Enable Vanish Mode In Messenger
Vanish mode can be enabled within an existing chat by swiping up on your mobile device’s screen while in the chat.
Upon the first launch, a screen will appear explaining how Vanish Mode works.
Once in Vanish Mode, the screen goes dark to signal the change.
How To Disable Vanish Mode In Messenger
To exit Vanish Mode, you tap on the “Turn Off Vanish Mode” button at the top of the screen.
According to Facebook, “We’re slowly rolling out vanish mode on Messenger and Instagram. Vanish mode is now available on Messenger in the US and a handful of other countries, and it’s coming soon to more places.”