Advertisement

Of course, this update is long overdue. This comes in handy when some WhatsApp group owners attempts to add you the group without your consent.

WhatsApp have been rolling out major updates lately to its instant messenger app, even thoug we are still waiting for the dark mode feature for everybody – available for beta version. The latest update offers you the total control of who can add you to groups.

The company has introduced a new privacy setting and invites system to help you decide who can add you to groups.

ALSO READ: How to upload your photos to Instagram from your PC

How To Enable It

To enable the new feature;

Advertisement
  • Go to Settings in your app
  • Tap Account > Privacy > Groups
  • Select one of three options: “Nobody,” “My Contacts,” or “Everyone.”

Nobody means you’ll have to approve joining every group to which you’re invited, and

My Contacts means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups.

In those cases, the person inviting you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group. You’ll have three days to accept the invite before it expires.

With these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive.

These new privacy settings will start rolling out to some users as from today and will be available worldwide in the coming weeks to those using the latest version of WhatsApp.

ALSO READ:  WhatsApp Is Offering Cashback To Convince Users To Use Its Payment System

Advertisment

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here