It would be recalled that back in December,Â Google announcedÂ that it would be shutting down Google+ in April due to low patronage and usage by existing users and it intends shifting its resources towards another project.
Google hasÂ now officially confirmedÂ that it will end Google+ in April 2, 2019 and it will completely face out of social media platform.
Your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and the company will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts.
Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted.
As from February 4, new users will be unable to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities, or events. In the coming weeks, you will not be able to sign into websites with Google+ and may be replaced with a Google sign in button.
Google+ comments on sites will be removed from the Blogger platform by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019.
How To Download Your Data on Google+ Before Shut Down
To back up your data on Google+ before it shut down, follow this guideÂ here.
Founded in June 2011, after 7 years, Google+ social networking will be retiring 60 days from now. Google+ is the companyâ€™s fourth foray into social networking, following Google Buzz (launched 2010, retired in 2011), Google Friend Connect (launched 2008, retired by March 1, 2012).