WhatsApp Will Delete Your Chats Not Manually Backed up to Google Drive
The most popular instant messaging app in the world,Â WhatsApp, has confirmed that it will be deleting users’ chats and media that have not been backed up to Google Drive. These users will lose their chat histories, so if you are one of those, please do so as soon as possible by following these steps.
â€œWhatsApp backups that havenâ€™t been updated in more than one year will be automatically removed from Google Drive storage. To avoid the loss of any backups, we recommend you manually back up your WhatsApp data,â€ the company said.
WhatsApp had earlier announced this move after reaching an agreement with Google to store chats and other data on Google Drive. This data would not count towards the maximum storage possible in Drive for individual users.
The auto-backup feature will also allow users to easily reload their data on different or new Android smartphones.
One of the criticisms of this moveÂ is that WhatsApp will not offer end-to-end encryption for chats backed up to Google Drive, since the chats are now exported to Googleâ€™s servers.
Even though the privacy of WhatsApp messages may be compromised once they are backed up on Google Drive, the backup process itself is completely voluntary, and users can turn off automatic Google Drive backups by going over toÂ Settings > Chats > Chat Backup > Backup to Google Drive, and changing the setting toÂ â€˜Neverâ€™.
Users can update their copy and configure its update frequency as long as they have a personal account on Google. In order to use Google Drive backup, you need to have:
- A Google account on your phone
- Updated Google Play Services
- Free storage space to create the backup locally before uploading it to drive
As is expected, the first time you backup will take a while. But every time you backup after that, it should be a quick affair.