The WhatsApp feature ‘Delete for Everyone’ (ability to recall/delete your messages) has received a new update.
Before now, the Facebook-owned company rolled out one of its most anticipated feature, ‘Delete for Everyone’, in 2017 that allows over one billion users to revoke their messages in a private or group conversation.
The users could only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending.
“Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone,” according to WhatsApp in its updated FAQ.
But there is a little adjustment as sported by WABetainfo on a new updated feature. The most recent WhatsApp beta (v2.18.69) for Andr oid now gives users up to 4,096 seconds (68 minutes and 16 seconds ) to delete a message for everyone in a chat. Currently, in stable builds.
This release is presently available for Android beta and would soon find its way to iOS and windows phone users. WhatsApp had been working on this feature for almost a year.
Messages that the user successfully deletes for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in the recipients’ chats.
Similarly, if a person happens to see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.