If you’ve logged into Facebook over the past few days, you’d probably seen a note from the social network about expanding its facial recognition features. The social network giant quietly released this new feature that will automatically allow you to know when you appear in a photo or video, even if you weren’t actually tagged in the first place.
This feature was first announced in December but was fully activated on February, 2018. Some Facebook users logged onto Facebook as of recent could testify to the fact that Facebook notifies them on their News Feed of the new feature called facial recognition technology.
This new feature, which has rolled out to every user, will apply only to newly uploaded photos. And you will only receive a notification if the person uploading the pic makes it visible to you through their privacy settings.
However, this tool will not be rolled out to Canada or the European Union, where Facebook faces much more intense backlash over its use of facial data.
If a picture featuring your face is uploaded, a dialogue box will appear. Then, you’ll have the option to tag yourself, message the user who posted it, notify Facebook that the face isn’t you, or report the pic for violating the site’s rules and lots more.
According to Facebook, it says it will also now notify users if their photos are being used by another profile, a move that could cut down dramatically on imposter accounts.
For its part, Facebook is spinning the feature as one that gives users more control over their online privacy and content.
“We’ve thought about this as a really empowering feature,” Rob Sherman, Facebook’s head of privacy, told WIRED.
“There may be photos that exist that you don’t know about.”
Well this is interesting and it makes its users feels secured with their uploaded photos. What do you think about this development?