Photo: Osinbajo swears-in Justice Walter Onnoghen as Chief Justice of Nigeria, lists of former CJNs since 1914

Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo on Tuesday, March
7, 2017 swore in Justice Walter Onnoghen as the 20th Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN)
since 1914.

The swearing-in ritual took place at the Council Chamber of
the Presidential Villa, Abuja, with the presence of Senate President Bukola
Saraki, Ministers, government officials and some members of the new CJN’s
Onnoghen 66, was at the brief swearing-in ceremony,
decorated with the country’s second highest national honour of the Grand
Commander of Order of the Niger (GCON).
Onnoghen was born on the December 22, 1950 at Okurike Town,
Biase local government area, Cross Rivers State.
The new CJN, Walter Samuel Onnoghen has been a Supreme Court
Justice since 2005, appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari to succeed Justice
Mahmood Muhammed in November, 2016, in acting ability.
He is a graduate of University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana, graduated
in 1977 and also graduated from the Nigerian Law School in Lagos in 1978.
Onneghen was a judge in Cross River State and a justice of
the Court of Appeal before moving to the Supreme Court.

List of Nigerian
Chief Justices since 1914:
1. Sir Edwin
Speed, 1914-1918
2. Sir Ralph
Combe, 1918-1929
3. Donald
kingdon, 1929-1946
4. Sir John
Verity, 1946-1954
5. Sir
Stafford Sutton, 1955-1958
Adetokunbo Ademola, 1958-1972
7. Taslim
Olawale Elias, 1972-1975
8. Darnley
Arthur Alexander, 1975-1979
9. Atanda
Fatai Williams, 1979-1983
10. George
Shodeinde Sowewimo, 1983-1985
11. Ayo
Gabriel Irikefe, 1985-1987
12. Mohammed
Bello, 1987-1995
13. Muhammad
Lawal Uwais, 1995-2006
14. Salihu
Moddibo Alfa Belgore, 2006-2007
15. Idris
Legbo Kutigi, 2007-2009
16. Aloysius
Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu, 2009-2011
17. Dahiru
Musdapher, 2011-2012
18. Aloma
Mariam Mukhtar, 2012-2014
19. Mahmoud
Mohammed, 2014-2016

20. Walter
Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen, November 2016 till date.
You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.